Man Eats: Ramen Yushoken

Remember the Ukokkei Ramen Ron scare of 2012? I remember it like it was just last year!

No matter how much you despise the owner, dislike the service and the waitstaff, or even hate the decor, you have to admit that you cannot find a better bowl of ramen here in Manila. And I’m not even talking about the Tantan-men.

Even before this short-lived Ramen Apocalypse, I’ve tried to find a place that could rival Ukokkei’s Ramen. Ramen Bar and Moshi Koshi Noodle Boss are my “pwede na” ramen quick-fix places where I always get the RBS #1 and Miso Ramen, respectively. I had high hopes for Nomama where everything was good…except the ramen. Don’t even bother with Ajisen Ramen.

That’s why I’m both happy and sad that this new contender has come along…

Ramen Yushoken.

Why the mixed emotions? Let me explain.

First of all, my Miso Ramen was great.

Miso Ramen.

The noodles were firm, the soup was delicious and had excellent mouthfeel, and the pork was fatty and tender.

The other ramen we ordered was good too, but I still liked the Miso Ramen better.

Shoyu Tonkotsu Ramen.

Sadly, they ran out of Aji Tamago (and Hitachino Nest White Ale). Boo!

Hopefully, they’ll be fully stocked when I go back to try the Tantan-men and the Tsukumen.

Secondly, the Chahan.

Chahan.

While I don’t usually order Chahan with my Ramen, I tried the combination this one time since I was kinda hungry due to the fact that I didn’t have lunch. Just kidding. I didn’t have merienda. Just kidding. I’m a fatboy.

Third, the gyoza.

Gyoza.

“The best gyoza I’ve ever had,” according to my wife.

Fourth, the Karaage.

Karaage.

Tender. Juicy. Golden brown and delicious!

Save for a few dishes, that’s about the whole menu and it didn’t disappoint. Elbert Cuenca and Ryan Cruz have done a good thing here.

By the way, do you want to know the sad part?

It’s in fucking Alabang.

9 thoughts on “Man Eats: Ramen Yushoken”

  1. Nice. But I may never get there, it’s just so darn faaaaar. By the way, drove by Mishi Koshi on Shaw the other day– it was boarded up 😦

    1. Wha-wha-what?!? Again?!? The last time it was boarded up it was because the typhoon smashed all the windows. I hope they’re not closed though. But then again, every time I go, we’re the only table there.

      1. Inquired on Moshi Koshi’s FB wall; they replied that they’re moving to Robinsons Galleria Level 4 West Wing, opening mid-Feb. I detest Robinsons Galleria. Ah well.

Leave a Reply

